top of page

The "highest quality title race" in England finally comes to an end, as the season comes to a close

Manchester City have won their fourth Premier League title after beating Brighton & Hove Albion 4-1 on the final day of the season, with Liverpool winning 2-0 against Wolverhampton Wanderers, yet it was all in vain for the Reds.

This season was remarkable in terms of quality, with the two top sides being so far ahead of the others, with Martin Tyler labeling it "England's highest quality title race of all-time".

Manchester City finished the season on 98 points, just two points shy of their record-breaking season last year, where they reached 100 points. Liverpool managed an incredible 97 points, which would have been enough to win the Premier League on every occasion, apart from last season and this season.

To put to perspective how good the two sides were, Liverpool managed to record the most points for a second-placed side ever in the Premier League, with the previous record being held by Manchester United, who recorded 89 points in the memorable 2011-12 season, when Manchester City won the league on goal difference.

Pep Guardiola labeled the league as "the toughest league" that he has ever participated in, and with both Liverpool and City losing just five games between them throughout the whole season, it is easy to see why.

Chelsea and Tottenham Hotspur are the two sides that have automatically qualified for the UEFA Champions League next season, as they completed the top four, whilst Arsenal and Manchester United linger in the UEFA Europa League places. Newly-promoted Fulham and Cardiff City joined Huddersfield Town on their way back down to the Championship, as they will all be fighting hard next season to get back to England's top-flight.

The Golden Boot was shared by three African players, as Mohamed Salah, Sadio Mane, and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, all finished on 22 goals, the lowest goal tally for a Golden Boot winner since 2010-11, when Carlos Tevez and Dimitar Berbatov shared the prize for scoring 20 goals each.

The second ever Playmaker of the Year award was handed to Eden Hazard, who finished the season on 15 assists. Last season's winner is a fellow Belgian, as Kevin de Bruyne had won the award for providing 16 assists.

The race to win the Golden Glove was between two Brazilians throughout most of the season, with Liverpool's Alisson doing enough to go ahead of Ederson. Alisson ended the season on 21 clean sheets, whilst Ederson ended it on 20 clean sheets.

It has been a truly eventful season, with plenty of surprises and intriguing matches. Let's all hope that next season will offer us more of the same!


bottom of page