top of page

France are the World Champions!

World Cup 2018 Final Result:

France 4-2 Croatia

France were officially crowned World Champions after outclassing Croatia by four goals to two. At the very start of the final, Croatia seemed to be the better side, yet in the 18th minute France's Antoine Griezmann whipped in a cross, which Mario Mandzukic unfortunately headed into his own net. However, the lead did not last long, as in the 28th minute, Ivan Perisic switched the ball to his left foot and finished brilliantly into the bottom right corner, equalising for Croatia. However, in the 38th minute, Antoine Griezmann restored their lead from the spot, after Perisic unluckily handled the ball in the box.

The second half started as the first ended, with France clearly having the majority of the attacks, and in the 59th and 65tg minute Paul Pogba and Kylian Mbappe added to the scoreline respectively. Mandzukic lessend the blow to give Croatia some hope after a blunder from Hugo Lloris gave the Croatian an easy goal. In the end it was enough for Croatia as they could not overturn the deficit, giving the French the World Cup title for the second time in twenty years.

Apart from this, Didier Dechamps also became the third person to ever win the World Cup both as a player and a coach, after he won the trophy in 1998 as captain of France. The two others to have done so are Mario Zagallo with Brazil and Franz Beckenbauer with Germany.

After the game, several players were presented with notable awards. Croatia's Luka Modric was awarded the Golden Ball after his incredible performances in the tournament guided Croatia to their first ever World Cup final. Kylian Mbappe was the clear winner of the FIFA Young Player award, as he stole the show with his blistering pace and flair during the competition, repeatedly ripping opposition defences apart. Thibaut Courtois was awarded the Golden Glove award after conceding six goals in seven games, most of which came due to the attacking style of play that Roberto Martinez instilled in the squad, yet Courtois still managed to produce some miraculous saves. The Golden Boot award was presented to England's Harry Kane, after he ended as the top scorer of the tournament with six goals, despite not scoring in the games after the Round of 16.

bottom of page